About South Florida Banking Institute

The South Florida Banking Institute is a non-profit professional organization that serves as a resource for bankers seeking to expand their knowledge and capabilities by providing high-quality research, products, and services. Since 1950, the South Florida Banking Institute has provided education, research and networking opportunities for bankers in South Florida. Program are designed to keep members informed of regulatory issues and trends in the financial industry. Monthly networking events allows members to participate and interact with private industries serving financial institutions and peers. In keeping with its core , South Florida Banking Institute provides a forum for regulatory outreach events. Membership includes banks, attorneys, accountants, financial services providers, brokers, and industry experts.

South Florida Banking Institute (SFBI) – A Walk Through Time

SFBI began its’ history as the South Florida Chapter of the Bank Administration Institution (BAI) in 1950. Through the years many have had the privilege of being this organization’s President – beginning with Ray F. Basten in 1950, to our first President as the newly renamed South Florida Banking Institute (SFBI) – Phillips G. Gay, Jr. in 1999, to our 50th Anniversary President – Pamela L. Wendel in 2000, to our current President – Alex Sueiro.

The organization’s primary mission was and continues to be… “to serve the banking community by providing educational opportunities and creating an environment which allows the building of relationships. SFBI provides a forum for addressing topics relevant to the banking industry. Through these efforts, we create value by providing resources to our member organizations in the ever changing banking environment.”

The 1st Annual Operations Conference was held in 1989 led by then President, Ramiro Ortiz, and continued for 14 years. This venue successfully hosted nationwide vendors, mini-seminars, a renown keynote speaker and to close the evening, a gala reception. Attendance at the conferences ranged from 300 to 800 persons, with financial institution representation from Key West to Jacksonville.

Times change and BAI National disbanded the local chapters; however, our organization was so successful, the South Florida Banking Institute was formed with the blessing of BAI; and so the saga continues…

We would like to thank all of you who continue to support our organization through membership, meeting and seminar attendance, and especially to those organizations who allow their team members to participate and give of their time and talent as Officers and Directors.

Letter from SFBI’s President

S. Marshall Martin has over twenty-eight (28) years of substantial real estate, bank regulatory compliance/risk management, finance, accounting, and legal experience. He joined City National Bank of Florida in February 2009 and presently serves as its General Counsel. At City National, Marshall has joint accountability for the legal affairs of the bank and until February 2017 had responsibility for all non-credit risk, including BSA/AML/OFAC, privacy, information/cyber security, fraud, CRA, regulatory compliance, etc. In addition, his responsibilities include corporate governance, leadership, strategy development, and management of regulatory relations. Prior to joining City National Bank, Marshall served in Wachovia’s Legal Division and went on to lead over 100 FTE managing Wachovia Bank’s CIP & High Risk Customers for the General Bank, consultant in KPMG’s Chicago office on bank/thrift regulatory matters (including M&A filings), served as general counsel/compliance officer of a multi-state/country MSB, and was an assistant bank examiner with the FDIC.

Marshall holds a Juris Doctorate from the University of Illinois, a CPA certificate, and dual undergraduate degrees in finance and international business from Florida International University (“FIU”). Marshall is adjunct professor at the FIU Law School teaching banking and finance law/regulation. He has served on the advisory board for the Florida International Bankers Association’s AML Compliance conference, the task force for the ACAMS AML & Financial Crime Conference, and was Co-Chair of ACAMS South Florida Chapter. Marshall currently serves on FIU President’s Counsel, the Florida Banker’s Association’s Government Relations Committee, South Florida Banking Institute’s Board of Directors, the United Way’s Legal Cabinet,and is a frequent speaker both domestically and internationally.

View letters from past presidents

Officers

PRESIDENT

Marshall Martin
Executive Vice President
General Counsel & Secretary
City National Bank of Florida
100 S.E. 2nd Street, 16th Floor
Miami, FL 33130
T: 305-577-7460
C: 305-302-3841
Email: marshall.martin@citynational.com

PRESIDENT – ELECT

Alex Rodriguez
PAAST, P.L.
255 Alhambra Circle, Suite 1100
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: 305-567-0150
C: 305-301-3676
Email: arodriguez@paast.com

VICE PRESIDENT TREASURER

Alexander Sueiro
Partner
PAAST, P.L.
255 Alhambra Circle, Suite 1100
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: 305-567-0150
C: 786-423-9700
Email: asueiro@paast.com

VICE PRESIDENT SECRETARY

Jessica Goldberg
SVP, Human Resources Director
U.S. Century Bank
O: 305-715-5227
F: 305-715-2913
Email: jgoldberg@uscentury.com

VICE PRESIDENT MARKETING

Lourdes Mendes
SVP, Relationship Manager
First National Bankers Bank
7813 Office Park Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
T: 800-275-4222
C: 407-409-2660
Email: lmendes@bankers-bank.com

VICE PRESIDENT INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Ivan Rezvoy
Chief Financial Officer
Compuquip Cybersecurity
8400 NW 36th Street
Suite 450
Doral, FL 33166
T: 786-641-5419
C: 954-235-1733
Email: irezvoy@compuquip.com

VICE PRESIDENT EDUCATION

Yesenia Moreno
Executive Recruiter
O:
C: 786-447-9323
Email: yesenia3113@gmail.com

Directors

Domingo R. Callejas
SVP & Controller
Grove Bank & Trust
2701 South Bayshore Drive
Miami, FL 33133
T: 305-808-4000
C: 305-297-5647
Email: dcallejas@grovebankandtrust.com

Claudia A. Cancio
SVP, Director of
Relationship Banking
First National Bank of South Miami
8941 SW 136th Street
Miami, FL 33176
T: 305-278-5701
C: 786-514-0674
Email: ccancio@fnbsm.com

Guillermo Chiang
SVP, Sr. Correspondent Officer
BBVA USA
15 South 20th Street
Birmingham, AL35233
T: 800-644-3330
C: 305-582-4909
Email: g.chiang@bbva.com

Blas I. Cueto
SVP, Senior Wealth Advisor
Northern Trust
600 Brickell Avenue, Suite 2400
Miami, FL 33131
T: 305-789-1342
C: 305-785-5400
Email: bic2@ntrs.com

Guillermo Benites
VP, Financial Services
United Data Technologies
2900 Monarch Lakes Blvd.
Suite 300
Miramar, FL 33027
T: 954-308-5166
C: 786-286-6630
Email: gbenites@udtonline.com

Andres (“Andy”) A. Fernandez
Partner
Holland & Knight LLP
701 Brickell Avenue, Suite 3000
Miami, Florida 33131
T: 305-789-7433
C: 305-335-9503
Email: afernandez@hklaw.com

Jose Cueto
President & CEO
International Finance Bank
777 SW 37 Avenue, Suite 700
Miami, Florida 33135
T: 305-648-8883
C: 786-223-4252
Email: jcueto@ifbbank.com

Asnardo Garro
Partner
ARHMF, LLP
2525 Ponce de Leon Blvd., Suite 1225
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: 305-779-3560
C: 786-229-1401
Email: agarro@arhmf.com

Frank Gonzalez
Managing Principal
MBAF LLC
1001 Brickell Bay Drive
9th Floor
Miami, FL 33131
T: 305-377-9203
C: 305-742-8327
Email: fgonzalez@mbafcpa.com

Patricia M. Hernandez
Partner
ARHMF, LLP
2525 Ponce de Leon Blvd.,
Suite 1225
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: 305-779-3566
C: 305-903-5598
Email: phernandez@arhmf.com

Jose Maria Lacasa
Group Head
SVP, Corporate Banking
First Bank Florida
800 Waterford Way, Suite 800
Miami, FL 33126
T: 305-280-0065
C: 305-810-9080
Email: jose.lacasa@firstbankfla.com

Rodolfo “Rudy” Lleonart
Executive Vice President Managing Director
Community Banking
First American Bank
1801 Southwest 1st Street
Miami, FL 33135
T: 305-643-8212
C: 305-781-0004
Email: RLleonart@firstamericanbank.com

Juan R. Avila
VP, Treasurer
Banesco USA
150 Alhambra Circle
10th floor
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: 786-552-0566
C: 786-327-2019
Email: javila@banescousa.com

Daniel Martinez
Executive Vice President
Miami-Dade County
Market Executive
Professional Bank
1518 San Ignacio Ave.
Coral Gables, FL 33146
T: 305-666-8488
C: 305-606-6455
Email: dmartinez@probankfl.com

Marlon Melendez
VP, Chief Regulatory Compliance Officer
BAC Florida Bank
169 Miracle Mile, R-10
Coral Gables, Florida 33134
T: 305-789-7084
C: 305-527-1933
Email: mmelendez@bacflorida.com

Yvonne Debesa
Executive Vice President
Chief Operations Officer
Sunstate Bank
5722 SW 8th Street
Miami, FL 33144
T: 305-263-7900
C: 305-785-0033
Email: ydebesa@sunstatefl.com

Oscar P. Ortiz
T: 305-335-0894
Email: Oscar.p.ortiz@outlook.com

Pamela L. Wendel
Executive Vice President
Chief Operations Officer
Pacific National Bank
1390 Brickell Avenue, 5th Floor
Miami, Florida 33131
T: 305-539-7695
C: 305-322-6102
Email: plwendel@pnb.com

Maria Elena Riera
Executive Vice President
Chief Financial Officer
TerraBank N.A.
3191 Coral Way, Suite 900
Miami, FL 33145
T: 305-448-4898
C: 305-799-0942
Email: mriera@terrabank.com

Vanessa Lugo
SVP, President & Operating CFO
Ocean Bank
780 NW 42 Ave.
Miami, FL 33126
T: 305-569-8036
C: 305-753-7541
Email: vlugo@oceanbank.com

David Pruna
President
Miami-Dade and Monroe County
2 Alhambra Plaza
Suite 100
Coral Gables, Fl. 33134
T: 305-247-5332
C: 305-989-4913
Email: dxpruna@centerstatebank.com

Exclusive Invitation to our Networking Events

Opportunity to participate in leadership roles through board and committee membership.
To being part of a valuable peer network in your local community.