About South Florida Banking Institute

The South Florida Banking Institute is a non-profit professional organization that serves as a resource for bankers seeking to expand their knowledge and capabilities by providing high-quality research, products, and services. Since 1950, the South Florida Banking Institute has provided education, research and networking opportunities for bankers in South Florida. Program are designed to keep members informed of regulatory issues and trends in the financial industry. Monthly networking events allows members to participate and interact with private industries serving financial institutions and peers. In keeping with its core , South Florida Banking Institute provides a forum for regulatory outreach events. Membership includes banks, attorneys, accountants, financial services providers, brokers, and industry experts.

South Florida Banking Institute (SFBI) – A Walk Through Time

SFBI began its’ history as the South Florida Chapter of the Bank Administration Institution (BAI) in 1950. Through the years many have had the privilege of being this organization’s President – beginning with Ray F. Basten in 1950, to our first President as the newly renamed South Florida Banking Institute (SFBI) – Phillips G. Gay, Jr. in 1999, to our 50th Anniversary President – Pamela L. Wendel in 2000, to our current President – Alex Sueiro.

The organization’s primary mission was and continues to be… “to serve the banking community by providing educational opportunities and creating an environment which allows the building of relationships. SFBI provides a forum for addressing topics relevant to the banking industry. Through these efforts, we create value by providing resources to our member organizations in the ever changing banking environment.”

The 1st Annual Operations Conference was held in 1989 led by then President, Ramiro Ortiz, and continued for 14 years. This venue successfully hosted nationwide vendors, mini-seminars, a renown keynote speaker and to close the evening, a gala reception. Attendance at the conferences ranged from 300 to 800 persons, with financial institution representation from Key West to Jacksonville.

Times change and BAI National disbanded the local chapters; however, our organization was so successful, the South Florida Banking Institute was formed with the blessing of BAI; and so the saga continues…

We would like to thank all of you who continue to support our organization through membership, meeting and seminar attendance, and especially to those organizations who allow their team members to participate and give of their time and talent as Officers and Directors.

Letter from SFBI’s President

The South Florida banking industry continues to maintain positive momentum in this post crisis era, which is truly a testament to the resolve of this community. Many economists and commentators have indicated that South Florida and its diversity continue to be well-positioned for the future and the banking community is very optimistic for the remainder of 2017 and 2018.

Nevertheless, we continue to face challenges and uncertainties in many areas as the banking industry continues to be subject to significant demands and pressures on the legal, regulatory and financial fronts.

With these uncertainties in mind, the South Florida Banking Institute is uniquely positioned to support and bolster our member institutions during these times. We assist and provide the necessary tools and resources to not only navigate such uncertainties, but more importantly, to further grow and generate business. I continue to be encouraged for our future, and I’m humbled and honored to serve as your President. I want to thank all our members, particularly the Board of Directors, for their time and commitment to our organization. I would like to encourage all of you to continue attending our events and promoting them amongst your friends and colleagues. With this in mind, we have developed an exciting schedule of events for fiscal year 2017-2018 and look forward to seeing each of you as we continue to work together to keep the South Florida banking community as one of the premiere banking communities in the country.

 

Sincerely,
Andy's Signature

Andres Fernandez

Officers

President

Andres (“Andy”) A. Fernandez
Partner
Holland & Knight LLP
701 Brickell Avenue, Suite 3000
Miami, Florida 33131
Phone: (305) 789-7433
Fax: (305) 789-7799
C: (305) 335-9503
Email: afernandez@hklaw.com

President – Elect

Guillermo Benites
VP Financial Services
United Data Technologies
8825 NW 21st Terrace
Doral, FL 33172
Phone: (786) 364-6066
C: (786) 286-6630
Email: guillermo.benites@udtonline.com

Vice President Treasurer

Alex Rodriguez
Perez-Abreu, Aguerreberre, Sueiro & Torres, P.L.
2121 Ponce De Leon Blvd, #650
Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone: (305) 567-0150
Fax: (305) 476-1551
C: (305) 301-3676
Email: arodriguez@paast.com

Vice President Secretary

Juan Avila
VP, Treasurer
Banesco USA
150 Alhambra Circle
Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone: (786) 552-0566
C: (786) 327-2019
Email: javila@banescousa.com

Vice President Marketing

Yvonne Debesa
EVP – COO
Sunstate Bank
14095 S. Dixie Highway
Miami, FL 33176
Phone: (305) 256-0900
C: (305) 785-0033
Email: ydebesa@sunstatefl.com

Vice President Information Technology

Julio Martinez
CPA
De La Hoz, Perez & Barbeito, P.A.
304 Palermo Ave.
Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone: (305) 448-5585
C: (305) 972-8015
Email:Jmartinez@mmpl-cpa.com

Vice President Education

Carl Gallo
Owner
Station America, Inc.
8775 SW 129 Terrace
Miami, FL33176
Phone: (305) 233-3343
Fax: (305) 233-7123
C: (305) 389-4780
Email:Carl@Stationamerica.com

Directors

Alexander Sueiro
Partner
Perez-Abreu, Aguerreberre, Sueiro & Torres, P.L.
2121 Ponce De Leon Blvd., #650
Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone: (305) 567-0150
Fax: (305) 476-1551
C: (786) 423-9700
Email:asueiro@paast.com

Asnardo Garro
Partner
Avila Rodriguez Hernandez
Mena & Ferri LLP
2525 Ponce de Leon Blvd., Suite 1225
Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone: (305) 779-3560
Fax: (305) 779-3561
C: (786) 229-1401
Email: agarro@arhmf.com

Daniel Martinez
Executive Vice President
Professional Bank
1567 San Remo Ave.
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: (305) 666-8488
Fax: (305) 666-0880
C: (305) 606-6455
Email: dmartinez@professionalbankfl.com

Dario Fuentes
Managing Director
Innovative Pace
1815 Purdy Avenue
Miami, FL 33139
C: (786) 449-5291
Email:dfuentes@bacflorida.com

David Hernandez
Chief Risk Officer
BAC Florida Bank
169 Miracle Mile, R-10
Coral Gables, Florida 33134
Tel: (305) 789-7025
Fax: (305) 569-1542
Email:dhernandez@bacflorida.com

Domingo R. Callejas
VP & Controller
Grove Bank & Trust
2701 South Bayshore Drive
Miami, FL 33133
Phone: (305) 808.4000
Fax: Fax: (305) 756.4300
C: (305) 297-5647
Email:
dcallejas@GroveBankandTrust.com

Frank Gonzalez
Morrison Brown Argiz & Farra LLC
1001 Brickell Bay Drive
9th Floor
Miami, FL 33131
Phone: (305) 377-9203
Fax: (305) 373-0056
C: (305) 742-8327
Email: fgonzalez@mbafcpa.com

Guillermo Chiang
VP – Sr. Correspondent Officer
BBVA Compass
15 South 20th Street
Birmingham, AL35233
Phone: (800) 644-3330
C: (305) 582-4909
Email: g.chiang@bbvacompass.com

Jessica Goldberg
SVP Human Resources Director
U.S. Century Bank
Phone: (305) 715-5227
Fax: (305) 715-2913
Email: jgoldberg@uscentury.com

Jose Cueto
President & CEO
International Finance Bank
777 SW 37 Avenue Suite 700
Miami, FL 33135
Phone: (305) 648-8883
C: (786) 223-4252
Email: jcueto@ifbbank.com

Jose Maria Lacasa
Group Head, SVP
Corporate Banking
First Bank Florida
701 Waterford Way, Suite 800
Miami, FL 33126
Phone: (305) 557-6000 Ext. 180
C: (305) 810-9080
Email: jose.lacasa@firstbankfla.com

Luis Santiago
Compuquip Technologies, Inc.
8399 NW 30 Terrace
Miami, FL 33122
Phone: (305) 438-7506
Fax: (305) 436-9149
C: (954) 520-6487
Email: lsantiago@compuquip.com

Maria Elena Riera
EVP & CFO
TerraBank N.A.
3191 Coral Way, Suite 900
Miami, FL 33145
Phone: (305) 448-4898
Fax: (305) 648-2646
C: (305) 799-0942
Email: mriera@terrabank.com

Marshall Martin
Ent. Risk Exec & Co-Gen. Counselor
City National Bank
25 W. Flagler, 2nd Floor
Miami, FL 33130
Tel: (305) 577-7460
C: (305) 302-3841
Email: marshall.martin@citynational.com

Neil M. Solomon
Managing Director
Sandler O’Neill + Partners, L.P.
1251 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10020
Phone: (212) 466-7897
C: (954) 298-2590
Email: nsolomon@sandleroneill.com

Oscar P. Ortiz
Crowe Horwath LLP
401 E. Las Olas Blvd.
Suite 1100
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: (305) 335-0894
Fax: (954) 489-4741
Email: oscar.ortiz@crowehorwath.com

Pamela L. Wendel
Senior Vice President
Chief Operations Manager

Pacific National Bank
1390 Brickell Avenue, 5th Floor
Miami, Florida 33131
Phone: (305) 539-7695
Fax: (305) 539-7491
C: (305) 322-6102
Email: plwendel@pnb.com

Patricia M. Hernandez
Partner
Avila Rodriguez Hernandez
Mena & Ferri LLP
2525 Ponce de Leon Blvd.,
Suite 1225
Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone: (305) 779-3566
Fax: (305) 779-3561
C: (305) 903-5598
Email:phernandez@arhmf.com

Sam Milne
Chief Financial Officer
Gibraltar Private Bank & Trust
55 Alhambra Plaza
Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone: (305) 461-8969
Fax: (305) 476-1528
Email: smilne@gibraltarprivate.com

Sonia Canessa – Gonzalez
SVP – CFO
Continental National Bank of Miami
1801 SW 1st Street
Miami, FL 33135
Phone: (305) 643-8276
Fax: (305) 643-8289
Email: s.canessa@continentalbank.com

Yuni Navarro
EVP & Head of Human Resources
Ocean Bank
780 N.W. 42nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33126
Phone: (305) 569-5415
C: (305) 613-9827
Email: ynavarro@oceanbank.com

Exclusive Invitation to our Networking Events

Opportunity to participate in leadership roles through board and committee membership.
To being part of a valuable peer network in your local community.