About South Florida Banking Institute

The South Florida Banking Institute is a non-profit professional organization that serves as a resource for bankers seeking to expand their knowledge and capabilities by providing high-quality research, products, and services. Since 1950, the South Florida Banking Institute has provided education, research and networking opportunities for bankers in South Florida. Program are designed to keep members informed of regulatory issues and trends in the financial industry. Monthly networking events allows members to participate and interact with private industries serving financial institutions and peers. In keeping with its core , South Florida Banking Institute provides a forum for regulatory outreach events. Membership includes banks, attorneys, accountants, financial services providers, brokers, and industry experts.

South Florida Banking Institute (SFBI) – A Walk Through Time

SFBI began its’ history as the South Florida Chapter of the Bank Administration Institution (BAI) in 1950. Through the years many have had the privilege of being this organization’s President – beginning with Ray F. Basten in 1950, to our first President as the newly renamed South Florida Banking Institute (SFBI) – Phillips G. Gay, Jr. in 1999, to our 50th Anniversary President – Pamela L. Wendel in 2000, to our current President – Alex Sueiro.

The organization’s primary mission was and continues to be… “to serve the banking community by providing educational opportunities and creating an environment which allows the building of relationships. SFBI provides a forum for addressing topics relevant to the banking industry. Through these efforts, we create value by providing resources to our member organizations in the ever changing banking environment.”

The 1st Annual Operations Conference was held in 1989 led by then President, Ramiro Ortiz, and continued for 14 years. This venue successfully hosted nationwide vendors, mini-seminars, a renown keynote speaker and to close the evening, a gala reception. Attendance at the conferences ranged from 300 to 800 persons, with financial institution representation from Key West to Jacksonville.

Times change and BAI National disbanded the local chapters; however, our organization was so successful, the South Florida Banking Institute was formed with the blessing of BAI; and so the saga continues…

We would like to thank all of you who continue to support our organization through membership, meeting and seminar attendance, and especially to those organizations who allow their team members to participate and give of their time and talent as Officers and Directors.

Letter from SFBI’s President

The South Florida banking industry continues to maintain positive momentum in this post crisis era, which is truly a testament to the resolve of this community. Many economists and commentators have indicated that South Florida and its diversity continue to be well-positioned for the future and the banking community is very optimistic for the remainder of 2017 and 2018.

Nevertheless, we continue to face challenges and uncertainties in many areas as the banking industry continues to be subject to significant demands and pressures on the legal, regulatory and financial fronts.

With these uncertainties in mind, the South Florida Banking Institute is uniquely positioned to support and bolster our member institutions during these times. We assist and provide the necessary tools and resources to not only navigate such uncertainties, but more importantly, to further grow and generate business. I continue to be encouraged for our future, and I’m humbled and honored to serve as your President. I want to thank all our members, particularly the Board of Directors, for their time and commitment to our organization. I would like to encourage all of you to continue attending our events and promoting them amongst your friends and colleagues. With this in mind, we have developed an exciting schedule of events for fiscal year 2017-2018 and look forward to seeing each of you as we continue to work together to keep the South Florida banking community as one of the premiere banking communities in the country.

 

Sincerely,

Guillermo A. Benites

Officers

President

Guillermo Benites
VP Financial Services
United Data Technologies
8825 NW 21st Terrace
Doral, FL 33172
T: (786) 364-6066
C: (786) 286-6630
Email: gbenites@udtonline.com

President – Elect

Marshall Martin
General Counsel
City National Bank
25 W. Flagler, 2nd Floor
Miami, FL 33130
T: (305) 577-7460
C: (305) 302-3841
Email:
marshall.martin@citynational.com

Vice President Treasurer

Alex Rodriguez
PAAST, P.L.
255 Alhambra Circle, Suite 1100
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: (305) 567-0150
C: (305) 301-3676
Email: arodriguez@paast.com

Vice President Secretary

Juan Avila
VP, Treasurer
Banesco USA
150 Alhambra Circle
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: (786) 552-0566
C: (786) 327-2019
Email: javila@banescousa.com

Vice President Marketing

Yvonne Debesa
EVP – COO
Sunstate Bank
14095 S. Dixie Highway
Miami, FL 33176
T: (305) 256-0900
C: (305) 785-0033
Email: ydebesa@sunstatefl.com

Vice President Information Technology

Ivan Rezvoy
Director of Finance
Compuquip Cybersecurity
2121 Ponce de Leon Blvd. #530
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: (786) 641-5419
C: (954) 235-1733
Email: irezvoy@compuquip.com

Vice President Education

Jessica Goldberg
SVP Human Resources Director
U.S. Century Bank
O: (305) 715-5227
F: (305) 715-2913
Email: jgoldberg@uscentury.com

Directors

Amelia Bender
Marketing Consultant
Station America, Inc.
8775 SW 129 Terrace
Miami, FL 33176
T: 305-233-3343
C: 786-512-1596
Email: amelia@stationamerica.com

Domingo R. Callejas
SVP & Controller
Grove Bank & Trust
2701 South Bayshore Drive
Miami, FL 33133
T: (305) 808-4000
C: (305) 297-5647
Email:
dcallejas@grovebankandtrust.com

Claudia A. Cancio
SVP – Regional Branch Manager
First National Bank of South Miami
8941 SW 136th Street
Miami, FL 33176
T: 305-278-5701
C: 786-514-0674
Email: ccancio@fnbsm.com

Guillermo Chiang
VP – Sr. Correspondent Officer
BBVA Compass
15 South 20th Street
Birmingham, AL35233
T: (800) 644-3330
C: (305) 582-4909
Email: g.chiang@bbvacompass.com

Blas I. Cueto
SVP – Senior Wealth Advisor
Northern Trust
600 Brickell Avenue, Suite 2400
Miami, FL 33131
T: 305-789-1342
C: 305-785-5400
Email: bic2@ntrs.com

Jose Cueto
President & CEO
International Finance Bank
777 SW 37 Avenue Suite 700
Miami, Florida 33135
T: (305) 648-8883
C: (786) 223-4252
Email: jcueto@ifbbank.com

Andres (“Andy”) A. Fernandez
Partner
Holland & Knight LLP
701 Brickell Avenue, Suite 3000
Miami, Florida 33131
T: (305) 789-7433
C: (305) 335-9503
Email: afernandez@hklaw.com

Asnardo Garro
Partner
ARHMF, LLP
2525 Ponce de Leon Blvd., Suite 1225
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: 305-779-3560
C: 786-229-1401
Email:agarro@arhmf.com

Frank Gonzalez
Managing Principal
MBAF LLC
1001 Brickell Bay Drive
9th Floor
Miami, FL 33131
T: (305) 377-9203
C: (305) 742-8327
Email: fgonzalez@mbafcpa.com

Patricia M. Hernandez
Partner
ARHMF, LLP
2525 Ponce de Leon Blvd.,
Suite 1225
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: (305) 779-3566
C: (305) 903-5598
Email: phernandez@arhmf.com

Jose Maria Lacasa
Group Head, SVP
Corporate Banking
First Bank Florida
800 Waterford Way, Suite 800
Miami, FL 33126
T: (305) 280-0065
C: (305) 810-9080
Email: jose.lacasa@firstbankfla.com

Rodolfo “Rudy” Lleonart
EVP & Chief Operating Officer
Continental National Bank
1801 Southwest 1st Street
Miami, FL 33135
T: (305) 643-8212
C: (305) 781-0004
Email:rlleonart@continentalbank.com

Daniel Martinez
Executive Vice President
Professional Bank
1567 San Remo Ave.
Coral Gables, FL 33146
T: (305) 666-8488
C: (305) 606-6455
Email:
dmartinez@professionalbankfl.com

Marlon Melendez
VP Chief Regulatory
Compliance Officer
BAC Florida Bank
169 Miracle Mile, R-10
Coral Gables, Florida 33134
T: 305-789-7084
C: 305-527-1933
Email: mmelendez@bacflorida.com

Lourdes Mendes
Vice President Relationship Manager
First National Bankers Bank
7813 Office Park Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
T: 800-275-4222
C: 407-409-2660
Email: lmendes@bankers-bank.com

Yuni Navarro
EVP & Head of Human Resources
Ocean Bank
780 N.W. 42nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33126
T: (305) 569-5415
C: (305) 613-9827
Email: ynavarro@oceanbank.com

Oscar P. Ortiz
Crowe LLP
1395 Brickell Avenue,
Suite 1150
Miami, FL 33131
F: 305-335-0894
T: 305-335-0894
Email: oscar.ortiz@crowe.com

David Pruna
President Miami-Dade & Monroe County
CenterState Bank
28801 SW 157 Avenue
Homestead, FL 33033
T: 305-247-5332
C: 305-989-4913
Email: dxpruna@CenterStateBank.com

Maria Elena Riera
EVP & CFO
TerraBank N.A.
3191 Coral Way, Suite 900
Miami, FL 33145
T: 305-448-4898
C: 305-799-0942
Email: mriera@terrabank.com

Alexander Sueiro
Partner
PAAST, P.L.
255 Alhambra Circle, Suite 1100
Coral Gables, FL 33134
T: (305) 567-0150
C: (786) 423-9700
Email: asueiro@paast.com

Pamela L. Wendel
Executive Vice President
Chief Operations Manager
Pacific National Bank
1390 Brickell Avenue, 5th Floor
Miami, Florida 33131
T: 305-539-7695
C: 305-322-6102
Email: plwendel@pnb.com

Exclusive Invitation to our Networking Events

Opportunity to participate in leadership roles through board and committee membership.
To being part of a valuable peer network in your local community.